Aplin named senior CLASS award candidate

JONESBORO (9/21/12) - Arkansas State quarterback Ryan Aplin has been named one of just 30 candidates from across the nation for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award, annually recognizing an NCAA FBS senior with notable achievements in areas of community, classroom, character and competition.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the prestigious Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
Aplin, the 2011 Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year and 2012 Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, holds 17 combined game, season and career A-State records. Through three games this season, he is ranked 20th in the nation in total offense and 23rd in passing yards.
He is ranked among the top-six active NCAA players in career total offense (4th), passing yards (5th), completions (6th) and touchdowns responsible for (6th).
Aplin carries a GPA of 3.33 and is on track to graduate in December with a degree in Exercise Science. He is a six-time ASU Athletic Director's Honor Roll and Sun Belt Conference Commissioner's List choice and has twice been named to the Chancellor's List.
The Tampa, Fla. native was selected as the 2011-12 Sun Belt Conference Male Student-Athlete of the Year for showing exemplary character off the field and excellence on the field. He is also active in March of Dimes and Special Olympics.
He has been an active worker and organizer for Special Olympics events since his high school career. He has also organized and help publicize march of Dimes fundraisers.  Aplin has visited hospitals on numerous occasions as part of the football team's community service projects.
Aplin, one of just two players in the history of the SBC to record over 3,000 yards total offense in two different seasons (2011 and 2010), has passed for over 300 yards in two of ASU's first three games this season while piling up 891 yards of total offense.
The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will then select the winning candidate.
In addition to Aplin, the entire list of candidates includes Montee Ball (Wisconsin), Johnthan Banks (Mississippi State), Matt Barkley (USC), Jeff Braun (West Virginia), Rex Burkhead (Nebraska), Blaize Foltz (TCU), Rashard Hall (Clemson), Duron Harmon (Rutgers), Dustin Hopkins (Florida State), Travis Johnson (San Jose State), Barrett Jones (Alabama), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Collin Klein (Kansas State), A.J. Klein (Iowa State), Jeff Locke (UCLA), Philip Lutzenkirchen (Auburn), Riley Nelson (Brigham Young), Kyle Quinn (Arizona), Sean Renfree (Duke), Adam Replogle (Indiana), Luke Ruff (Wyoming), Jason Schepler (Northern Illinois), John Simon (Ohio State), Caleb Sturgis (Florida), Matt Summers-Gavin (California), Manti Te'o (Notre Dame), Omoregie Uzzi (Georgia Tech), Stephen Warner (Louisiana Tech) and Tyler Wilson (Arkansas).